Why I love Wrestling so much at 30

I was born in 1987 so I’ve lived through the break-up of the Rockers and the birth of HBK when Shawn Michaels threw Marty Jannetty through the pain glass window, the rise and fall of WCW, the creation of NWO & DX, I saw the beginning transformation of The Ring Master to Stone Cold Steve Austin, Seeing Rocky Maivia turn into The Rock, Hunter Hearst Helmsley into Triple H and so on.

The Attitude era for me and most fans of my age will always be our Golden age of Wrestling. Nothing will ever come close to that again. 

 I will admit Wrestling today just isn’t what it used to be, Most of that probably has to do with the fact the product is PG so it’s geared more toward kids (at least WWE) and well the wrestlers just don’t have as much freedom like the guys I mentioned had in the early to late 90’s)

But Wwe/Wrestling as a whole is still amazing to me. There’s no better feeling than watching 5 star classic matches or seeing something breath taking like Shawn Michaels Vs Bret Hart (Wrestlemania 12 the Iron Man Match), Bret Hart vs Stone Cold (WM13), Kazuchika Okada Vs Kenny Omega (WK11), Pete Dunne Vs Tyler Bate (NXT: Chicago), Stone Cold dropping HHH while he’s in a car from a fork lift, Shane McMahon going through the glass at King of The Ring ’01, Mick Foley taking that scary ass bump in his Hell in a cell match with Undertaker, All the crazy stunts the Young Bucks pull in Ring of Honor, etc.

So why do I still love Wrestling at a time when I should essentially be growing out of it….. The spectacle of it all still fascinates me, as stated above when you get those special moments/great matches​, NXT, ROH, New Japan Pro Wrestling, all the indie stuff. Women are finally starting to be able to wrestle again like the early 00’s when we had Molly Holly, Trish Stratus, Lita, etc. There is still great Wrestling out there even if you don’t like the major brands i.e Raw/Smackdown/Impact.

Wrestling to me is the best form of natural high and a lot of other wrestling fans as well.

Leave a Reply

